top of page

Human Anatomy for Pierrot Ensemble (2021)

Human Anatomy is a three-movement work for Pierrot Ensemble. Each movement explores the musical potential of one human organ and the dichotomy quality within it. In the first movement, “Heart,” the pulse of the beating heart is the basic sonic unit that constructed the piece. The vitality and fragility of hearts are explored.


In the second movement, “Can We Talk About Time? As River Flows Through Our Skin,” I meditated on how time flows like river through our skin, leaving traces of wrinkles and textures. G harmonic series, D# subharmonic series, and their intersection on a B3 note constitutes the basic harmonic plan. They echo with the contrasting morphing timbres shifting between the glossiness and roughness of human skin.

The third movement, “Inside My Feminine Brain” exemplifies my exploration of heterophonic/bitonal music. It starts with stereotypical “feminine sounds” in the history: nurturing and tender. By slowly introducing rigid and assertive morse codes on top of it, the stereotype is slowly morphed, a new voice of women that is both tender and nurturing, and powerful and assertive, is formed.

Conductor: Théo Schmitt

Percussionist: Robby Good

Violinist: Xenia Deviatkina-Loh

Cellist: Christopher Ye

Clarinetist: Darren Liou

Flutist: Matthew Origel

Pianist: Andreas Fevos Apostolou

Second Movement: 


Sample Score

bottom of page